Content edited and saved!


Illinois Eastern Community Colleges offers excellent transfer programs for students who wish to continue their education at a four-year college or university. Students who plan to transfer usually enroll in the Associate in Science or Associate in Science and Arts degree programs. After successfully completing one of the Associate degrees, the student can generally transfer to a four-year university with junior status.

If you began college in the summer of 1998 or later, the Illinois Articulation Initiative makes transfer to a four-year university a smooth process. Just remember these key steps:

1. Follow the IAI Road Map and check the IAI website at
2. Check out the website at
3. Get advice from your college advisor

A primary part of the IAI was the development of the General Education Core Curriculum which is transferable among more than 100 participating colleges and universities. The General Education Core Curriculum (GECC) is the starting point for students pursuing an Associate transfer degree or a Bachelor’s degree. These students must take a set of core courses considered an essential foundation to a well-rounded education. This core consists of 12 or 13 courses, or 37 to 41 credits, as displayed in the Program Outlines tab to the left. The IAI codes can be explained further by an academic advisor or through the IAI website.

All participating colleges and universities have agreed to accept this general education “package” from transfer students in place of their own general education requirements for Associate or Bachelor degrees.

Find a problem? Send the issue to us. Thank you!