Board Members

The Board of Trustees is charged with establishing policy for the financing, governance, operation, and administration of Illinois Eastern Community Colleges. Seven voting members are elected from the District at large, each serving a six-year term. (End of term appears underneath each name below.) A non-voting student trustee is elected by student referendum during the fall semester, to serve from April to March.


To contact the IECC board please use the following email address  
We appreciate any comments and feedback, please note we may not be able to respond to all emails.

Renee Smith - Board Secretary
Ryan Hawkins - Treasurer


State-Mandated Leadership Training 110 ILCS 805/3-8.5
State law requires elected and appointed community college trustees to receive four hours of leadership training during the 1st, 3rd and 5th years of their terms. It is also required by law that each community college district maintains a listing of all board members who have successfully completed the training, as well as those who have not.

The following trustees have successfully completed their required training:

John Brooks
Gary Carter
Brenda Culver
G. Andrew Fischer
Al Henager
Jan Ridgely
Barbara Shimer

Training information updated: 6/17/2020