LTC Inducts New Members Into Honor Society

Group of students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa
Oct 16, 2020

Lincoln Trail College’s Alpha Iota Epsilon Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society inducted its newest members at a ceremony on October 15.

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. An invitation for membership is extended to full-time students achieving at least a 3.5 grade point average. 

Phi Theta Kappa President Winter Harmsen and officers Ava Aguire, Blake Barrett, Lexi Wilson, and Morgan Boyer along with advisors Carrie Brown and Kim Schucker conducted the new member ceremony. LTC Interim President Roger Eddy and Dean of Instruction Brent Todd also spoke to the new members during the ceremony. 

New members of LTC’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter are Ava Aguirre, Blake Barrett, Zane Belford, Austin Boyer, Morgan Boyer, Reid Brown, Charles Catt, Anthony Conner, Allison Dunlap, Harleigh Haddix, Winter Harmsen, Travis Hollingsworth, J’Amy Jackson, Micah Janes, Dustin Lassen, Kyle Leftwich, Destanee Liston, Ashlyn Matthews, Marah Matthews, Paige Matthews, Jonathon Maynard, Abbey McCord, Nathan Meese, Joseph Perkins, Mackenzie Rinehart, Joshua Rosborough, Carrie Sablone, Tristan Sablone, Melissa Stone, Daniel Weger, Ashton Wesley, Lexi Wilson, Madison Workman, and Brittany Young.

Lincoln Trail College’s Alpha Iota Epsilon chapter has regularly been recognized as a Five Star Chapter, which is Phi Theta Kappa’s highest level of recognition a chapter can achieve. In 2020, the chapter was recognized as one of the Top 100 chapters in the Phi Theta Kappa organization, which has a presence on almost 1300 community college campuses in 11 nations. The chapter was also named Outstanding Chapter in the Illinois Region and earned Outstanding College Project and Outstanding Honors in Action Awards.